light vessel automatic

skip to navigation

a wintry compilation

December 25, 2005

In the last few months, the internet has been my main source of music (along with Andrew and Graeme). It’s partly that cds are expensive in Japan, and partly that a while ago I came across 3hive, which regularly posts links to interesting downloadable music.

So, seeing as how I’ve almost entirely failed to send out any Christmas cards or presents this year, I thought I would make a virtual compilation tape for you who might like such a thing — a collection of some things I have found and liked in the last few months. The track-listing is below: the track names (left) link to the music, the band names (right) link to the band’s homepage, wherever I’ve been able to find one. Download them all, make a playlist in the order below, and there you are… Merry Christmas (though most of this music is, truth be told, neither especially merry nor Christmassy). Tell me, though: do you particularly love or hate any of this music? I would like to know!

Note: some links you will have to right-click and then select ‘save link target as…’, otherwise they’ll just start playing in your browser. (crossed-out links are now broken)

  1. Park HopperSleepy Rabbit
  2. Don’t Die Before Your DayThe Arrogants
  3. Good Clean Fun (Nobody Remix)Clearlake
  4. Leaves Do FallThe Rosebuds
  5. Destroy Everything You TouchLadytron
  6. All That I Know To Have Changed In YouCastanets
  7. Postal Workers Canceling Stamps At The University Of Ghana Post Office
  8. SuddenlyRyan Ferguson
  9. In The City Of EggtimersThe Notes & Scratches
  10. Au Nord De Mon Enfance — Mig
  11. JudasAntje Duvekot
  12. The GreatestCat Power
  13. (Special Japan-release Bonus Track!) DrossSmashing Pumpkins

Credits: Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12 via 3hive; Tracks 7, 10, 11 via aurgasm; Track 1 via seatunes; Track 13 via stadtkind.

A few things:

  • All the above links are downloadable at the time of posting, but because they’re on external websites, there’s no way of knowing how long they’ll be available for. If you find a link no longer works, please let me know.
  • I might make some artwork for it at some point.
  • If you were to want to burn this compilation into an actual cd, this should do the job (on Windows, anyway).
  • If you are an artist who for some reason is unhappy about being linked to, please

    email me: hello [at]

    , and I will unlink.

  • I could write about how excited even a pessimist like me gets when I think about the implications that all this freely available music has for the future of everything: about how technology has now made it feasible for musicians (and artists, and writers…) to slip modern capitalism’s constrictive, joyless grip and distribute their art to thousands and thousands of people with money barely entering into the picture… but I won’t.
  • Unlike the others, the final, bonus track is not a recent one, but it’s there because (a) it is from Smashing Pumpkins’ final album, Machina II, which was possibly the first, and still one of the only major records by a big famous band to be given away free on the internet — which even five years later seems pretty radical; (b) I think a barrage of blistering rock makes for a nice, unexpected wake-up smack in the mouth after several quiet acoustic songs; and (c) Smashing Pumpkins are the greatest rock band ever.

posted in Okinawa4 comments


  1. Posted by Andrew — December 28, 2005 at 1:36 am

    Ho ho ho! An online mixtape!

    I can’t wait to load these beauties onto my portable digital music device before I zoom off through the snow.

  2. Posted by lva — December 30, 2005 at 4:46 pm

    I hope your portable digitable music device is less fussy than mine: a couple of those songs were in a format that mine refused to acknowledge.

  3. Posted by Dominic — August 2, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I’ve fixed the link to Machina II; it’s still there, but was moved.


  4. Posted by lva — August 2, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks Dominic. Just listened to Dross again for the first time in ages – such a great track! Thanks for hosting it.